Meet the Board of Directors | Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union Skip to main content

Meet the Board

Dr. Luis Ramos


With over 40 years of leadership and technical experience, Dr. Ramos brings depth to the role of Board Chair at Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union (NSFCU). He was elected Chair of the Board on March 12, 2014. Previously, Dr. Ramos served as Vice Chair of from 2010 to 2014; Secretary from 2008 to 2010; Supervisory Committee Chair from 2005 to 2008; and Supervisory Committee from 1998 to 2005. Dr. Ramos was elected Board Chair of the National Association of Credit Union Chairs in 2022. He is a Principal Systems Engineer at AT&T, in this capacity, he uses critical thinking skills to solve complex issues and develops solutions to complex business and technical problems of complex scope using advanced engineering and scientific principles. Dr. Ramos is an inventor with several approved patents in the United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO). He holds a BA in Management, an MBA in Organizational Leadership and is a Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership with a specialization in Information Systems and Technology (DMIST).

Mike Petti


Mike was appointed to NSFCU’s Board of Directors in June, 2001. Prior to joining Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union’s Board of Directors, he served as Board Chair of The Stanley Works Employees Federal Credit Union. He also served as Board Chair for Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union from 2010-2014. Mike held the position of Secretary and is Chair of the Nominating Committee. Mike holds a BA in Economics from Franklin College of Indiana and an MBA in Management from the University of New Haven. Mike holds the SPHR and SHRM-SCP designations in Human Resources. He is a Certified Mediator and a Lean Practitioner. Mike is formerly the Vice-President of Goodrich Engine Controls, North America in West Hartford, CT and currently consults in the Human Resources field. He has played a valuable role in the credit union’s growth and continued successes.

Wallace Abramson

Board Member, Emeritus

Wally has served on NSFCU’s Board of Directors since June of 2001. He previously served on the Stanley Works Employees Federal Credit Union Board. In 1998, he retired from Stanley Works after over 39 years of service. He plays a key role on our Board of Directors, and in addition to being a Director serves on the Technology Committee, and as Chair of the Board Governance Committee. He has contributed a great deal to the credit union’s success since his appointment to the Board.

Beth Bunko


Beth was appointed Secretary of the Board in June 2021. She served as the Supervisory Committee Chair from October 2015 until June 2021. Beth has been a volunteer for the credit union since 2004 and is currently a Lead Consultant for PowerPlan, Inc., implementing asset accounting software. Beth retired from Eversource after 36 years having held a variety of positions in Accounting, Finance, Regulatory and IT. Beth was appointed as an Advisory Board Member to the Nutmeg’s Board of Directors in 2009, and became a Board Member in 2011. Beth has BS in Marketing from CCSU and an MS in Professional Accounting from the University of Hartford.

Mike Godbout

Treasurer and ALCO Committee Chair

Mike was appointed to the Board of Directors in September of 1989. Since then, he has served as both Chair and Vice Chair of the Board, and currently serves on the Personnel Committee. He also serves as Chair of the ALM Committee.

Maria DeMarco

Supervisory Committee Chair

Maria joined the credit union’s Board as an Advisory Board Member in 2011. In June of 2021, Maria was appointed as Supervisory Committee Chair. She also serves on the Board Governance Committee. A longtime member of Nutmeg, she is currently the President of DeMarco Management Group in Hartford. Maria is very active in Connecticut’s business community and volunteers on many other boards and committees. She brings a fresh perspective to the Board and plays a valuable role in the credit union’s success.

P.J. Cimini, Esq.

Governance Committee Chair

Cimini joined the Advisory Board in 2019. A long-time member of Nutmeg, he is the Founder and Partner in the government affairs firm Capitol Strategies Group, LLC, where he represents clients before all levels of government in Connecticut. Active in public affairs for many years in Connecticut, he has served in several public and private appointed positions including the state public defender’s commission and the University of Connecticut School of Law Board of Trustees. Mr. Cimini is a graduate of Drew University and went on to receive his MA in Public Policy from Rutgers University and his JD from the University of Connecticut School of Law and is admitted to the Connecticut Bar.

Steven Hernandez, Esq.

2GEN Committee Chair

Steven Hernandez, Esq. is the Executive Director of the Commission on Women, Children, Seniors, Equity & Opportunity. Prior to his current service, he served the Connecticut State Legislature as Director of Public Policy and Research for the Connecticut Commission on Children. Mr. Hernandez served seven years as legislative and budget director at the Council of the District of Columbia in the office of Washington, D.C., Council member Jim Graham. He served as a clerk to two judges in the District's Court of Appeals and as a consultant to the Washington law firm Baker & Miller, PLLC. He received a bachelor of Arts Degree from Bennington College in Vermont in 1995 and a Juris Doctor Degree from the Washington College of Law at American University.